Wash Sale – multiple losses

Home Fairmark Forum Taxation of Investments Wash Sale – multiple losses

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Christine237
    Participant

I’m doing taxes for someone new to trading options in 2020 and he didn’t know about wash sales… I’m new to this too, but I think I mainly understand it except for a few things that don’t seem to be in the examples.
    I have a couple situations where there are transactions in the 30 days leading up to a loss, then continuous transactions – some with gains and some with losses going into next year.
    1 – I feel I should only adjust the cost basis of transactions after the loss, that the period in the 30 days before is only for classifying. Is that right or does their classification as “replacements” mean that I’m supposed to adjust them too?
    2 – One ticker has a large loss on one particular day but it’s two transactions. I kept them both as unadjusted wash sales, then went through and assigned proportional losses in the blocks after – breaking up the 1st transaction to apply to the size of the next ones, then moving to the 2nd. After all of that day was assigned, all of the next transactions were or had become wash sales, so I started again with the ones adjusted the 1st one and to the end and start again and so on. Is that right or do I have to fully concentrate on the 1st one until it’s gone, then move to the 2nd? I did it this way because they were both on the same day.
    3 – A few days before the big options loss, he bought stock in his IRA – does that mean the equivalent amount of calls can’t be realized? (probably answered by #1, but just to be sure.
    If you could help with any of this, or point me to a good resource, I would appreciate it. I only have a handful of complicated tickers but I can’t find the answers.
    Thanks!
    Christine

walter1
    Participant

Hi Christine,

I’m certainly no tax professional, but here are my opinions.

#1 — Adjust them too.