solo 401K questions

Home Fairmark Forum Retirement Savings and Benefits solo 401K questions

Tagged: 

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    deedee8712
    Participant

I am a new independent contractor with no employees and have significant 1099 income for 2021. I recently found out I can open a solo 401K with an employee contribution of up to $19.5K plus an employee catch-up contribution of up to $6.5K plus an employer profit sharing contribution of up to $38.5K (must be less than 20% of net income) for a total of up to $64.5K.

I spoke to both Vanguard Group and Fidelity Investments small business groups about the logistics. I have significant accounts with both vendors. Vanguard says to open the retirement plan I need a Federal EIN by 12/31/21, but Fidelity says I do not need an EIN. Vanguard says if I open the solo 401K by 12/31 that I do not need to make employee or employer contributions until 4/15/22, but if I open it in 2022, I can only make employer contributions for 2021. Fidelity says I must open the plan by 12/31/21 and need to make employee contribution by 12/31/21 and employer contributions by 4/15/22. I don’t know whom to believe.

Vanguard also warned me about possible tax consequences of getting an EIN even if I don’t use it (typical Vanguard FUD). I have reviewed the MN small business tax site and it seems to indicate I do not have to worry about getting a state EIN or registering for state unemployment or any sales/use tax because I am not buying/selling anything.

I self-prepare my taxes for many years with H&R Block Deluxe software. It does not appear to support these deductions. I do not know whether HRB Premium or HRB Premium+Business will allow me to deduct both employee and employer solo 401K contributions.

In summary:
    1) Do I need an EIN?
    2) What are the contribution deadlines?