AMT and Equity Compensation
Alternative minimum tax, nonqualified stock options, incentive stock options and other forms of equity compensation.
83(b) for ISO
Posted by: anshu0203, January 30, 2015 01:15AM
Hi,

I'm a newbie to the start-up/equity world.

My company granted me some equity stocks (ISO) with 4 year vesting period when i joined. Its already been 1.5 yrs+ and i have not exercised any stocks so far.

Also the strike price per share has not changed since i joined.

Questions -

1) Can i elect 83b for ISO?

2) If yes, can i use this 83b option for both vested and non vested shares (1/4th of the share are already vested now)?

3) When should i elect or opt for 83B. Before exercising the shares or after that ?

4) Are there any other tax complications involved ?

--Thanks

Re: 83(b) for ISO
Posted by: Kaye Thomas, January 30, 2015 05:10AM
1. The 83b election for ISO affects only the AMT consequences. Usually that's all that matters anyway, because you're planning to hold the shares long enough to avoid a disqualifying disposition, which means there would be no consequences under the regular income tax.

2. The point of the 83b election is to treat unvested shares as if they were vested. It doesn't apply to vested shares, but you don't need it to apply to them because it would be redundant.

3. It's best to file it the same day you exercise the option so there's no risk of missing the deadline, which is 30 days after you exercise. Do not miss this deadline. You do not want to be in the position of having exercised an unvested ISO on pre-IPO stock without having a valid 83b election in place. (I just helped someone in that situation, and it was a costly mess.)