Capital Gains and Losses
Questions and comments about tax rules for buying and selling stocks, mutual funds, real estate and other assets.
Got a K-1 for a Powershares Fund--What does it mean?
Posted by: emilylynn, February 19, 2009 01:04AM
I am pretty new to investing and prepared my first Schedule D just last year.

This year, in addition to the normal tax information that I got from Ameritrade, I received a "K-1" form directly from DB Commodity Services LLC. It pertains to a fund (DBC) that I held through Ameritrade for a short time this year.

The materials begin: "Please find enclosed your PowerShares DB Commodity Index Tracking Fund (DBC) tax package for 2008. It contains important information that you will need to prepare your federal and state income tax returs for 2008." The package includes a Schedule K-1, an "Ownership Schedule," a "Sales Schedule," and an IRS instruction booklet for partners.

I am confused. What partnership, and what does this have to do with me and my taxes? Is there some information from the K-1 that needs to be incorporated into my return, aside from the normal gains and losses information that I get from Ameritrade?

Thank in advance for your help.

Re: Got a K-1 for a Powershares Fund--What does it mean?
Posted by: DeeDee, February 19, 2009 01:28AM
The Schedule K-1 shows you what you should report ($ amount) and where to report it (the appropriate IRS form). The Sch K-1 depicts your share of the partnership income/expenses for the year. Just read the information carefully and it should be easy to determine how to report the income/expenses.

Posted by: emilylynn, February 19, 2009 02:13AM
I am still totally confused about this--I never knew I was a "partner."

Can I assume that if I report this on whatever line on my tax return corresponds to K-1 income, that I can omit it from my Schedule D?

This is a heck of a lot of heartburn for a $14.00 gain. I wish I had never bought this fund.

Posted by: DeeDee, February 19, 2009 02:36AM