Non-Tax Questions and Comments
Questions or comments about our forum software or this web site in general.
Learning Tax
Posted by: dErF, July 4, 2012 02:38PM
Hello Fairmark,

I am an accounting student at a qualifying institition currently taking a tax course.

May one share some thoughts on how one can effectively learn and maintain such knowledge on so many tax issues? Or is it through real life practice can one only retain the knowledge. I find it difficult to retain tax knowledge compared to financial accounting and managerial accounting courses.

I do practice the problems as given at the end of the book. But once done, they go out the window very quickly. There are just too many issues in one chapter.

To anyone who have taken the CPA exam, is it heavily emphasized on detailed tax questions or knowledge? This course is putting great fear onto me due to the great details that I have been reading the book so far.

Re: Learning Tax
Posted by: goose, July 4, 2012 03:34PM
The only way to get a good solid grasp on tax subjects is to actually learn it by doing it.
Every year the tax rules change, and that requires going to take continuing education courses.
True - computer technology has made it easier and less time consuming to do all the calculations - but you're still required to comprehend the basic tax theory.

The CPA exam is based on accounting and auditing principles. A very small portion of the exam is based on taxation.

Posted by: dErF, July 4, 2012 03:51PM
How do you "do the practice" when at most one have a few relatives who do not have to calculate the AMT tax, or determine the gift tax, or barely even have a lot of itemized deductions?

It seems as these practices are very limited in my life? So I guess I would need to find a internship or job that would deal with these issues is a good way to start.

Posted by: Art, July 4, 2012 05:02PM